The beauty of Haussmannisation

Word of the day: Nothospecies (botany) A hybrid which is formed by direct hybridization of two species with no other added hybrids.

French word of the day: bien sûr – of course, obviously

Reading: Impressionism: A Celebration of Light by Isabel Kuhl

So today it is PISSING it down with rain, so I have settled into my bed for a (not so) fun session of essay writing. I am taking a class at uni called “Crisis and Change: Mid Century Art in France and Britain”, which is led by the ever wonderful Professor Len Bell. He’s amazing. For the essay I am writing about how the Parisian city and streets is represented in painting…bien sûr!

According to the research I have been doing; the Paris we see today, the one with the wide boulevards, large buildings, hundreds of cafes and of course the metro – is less than 200 years old! Between 1853 and 1870 Napoleon III and his architect Georges-Eugene Haussmann changed Paris from the dirty, medieval, crime ridden city to the beautiful iconic metropolis we know and love. Which actually makes the Paris that I have traveled to, walked in and dreamt about since I was 14 is actually younger than the country I live in! New Zealand was officially founded as a nation in 1840. It’s super interesting when you discover things like this.

My petit chien Pippa has been sitting on my bed with me all day. Sometimes, particularly on rainy days, she gets very clingy and refuses to leave my side. This is one of those days. dog I set up all my books and computer, of which she decides to sit in the exact middle of the bed, squashed right up against my feet. Luckily I like keeping my feet warm.

I found a website which sells French wine direct to all NZ wine lovers – it’s highly addictive. While I love New Zealand wine, especially a good savignon blanc, nothing beats a French red, so I have bought two bottles to put away for Christmas. The website is…. http://www.winedirect.co.nz/ much recommended!

Leave a comment